Warning: Undefined variable $show_stats in /customers/7/c/7/lugirugby.com/httpd.www/wp-content/plugins/stats/stats.php on line 1384

Martina and Mican selected for the National team

Published by Ross on

A short while ago we made the announcement that both Martina Vivlund and Mican Francke-Rydén had made it through the first stages of the national 7s team selection. Now we’re very pleased to announce that they have both been selected as part of of the final twelve woman squad that will represent Sweden in the FIRA-AER Women’s Grand Prix 7s 2014.

The girls will first attend another training camp here in Lund on the 25th May, where they will take on the Danish national team as well as a couple of local mixed teams. From there they will go on to compete in Moscow from the 6th – 8th of June before attending a training camp in Toulouse the week prior to their next stop on the GP in Brive from the 13th – 15th of June.

The girls will compete in group A against traditional women’s World Series powers Russia and Spain, along with Series newcomers Ireland as well as the lesser known quantities of Wales and Portugal. A tough group by all accounts, but one they can certainly compete in.

The club would like to extend their fullest support to both Mican, Martina and everyone involved in the national 7s squad, and we look forward to cheering them all on in June.

Full Squad

Carina Tring – (Stockholm Exiles)

Emma Skagerlind – (Enköping)

Jennie Olsson – (Enköping)

Kerstin Maria Lövendahl (Captain) – (Pingvin)

Lene Lykke-Olesen (Vice Captain) – (Enköping)

Martina Vivlund – (Lugi)

Mathilda Wåhlander – (Enköping)

Micaela  Francke-Rydén – (Lugi)

Mikaela Korpysz – (Stockholm Exiles)

Rebecka Sundell – (Malmö)

Sanna Westman – (Attila)

Emelie Hellgren – (Uppsala)



Sara Lennvall – (Enköping)

Frida Nilsson – (Pingvin)

Tova Derk – (Södertälje)

Edona Alija – (Stockholm Exiles)